top of page

Three years...


Its been three years since either one of us have touched this website. To be honest, I never really put much effort into trying to market the site or the Drasana trilogy. Life just seems to have a way of pushing other priorities at you and a side project like this just disappears under the waves.

Over the last three years I have started small writing projects here and there but none of them have gone very far, nor inspired me to continue working on them. I am not sure how or exactly when it all went to the wayside but in the last few months I realized that if I was going to continue writing I was going to have to make a much larger effort. The Drasana series was completed when I had more time and less responsibilities on my hands, thus I was able to handle a fun side project. It is clear to me now that if I am going to actually try and author another book, or improve this website, I am going to have to push a lot harder than I have been these last three years.

I am not a fan of blogs, or at least I am not a fan of having my own blog. I guess I don't believe a young man of twenty-eight years old has much to offer the wide world so far as knowledge, wisdom, or creativity goes. Still, I believe that forcing myself and my stories out into the big wide internet will push me to continue my pursuit in writing better stories in the future, which may yet bring a lot of happiness to my small but loyal group of readers. Fortunately, this blog will likely only be seen by a few people, so there isn't much to be nervous about. Those few that do read it however, will, by a long stretch of my own imagination, be the force of reckoning that keeps me focused on pursing my dreams of "author-dom." (yup, made up a word, deal with it.)

It is with great nervousness that I am going to publicly announce that I am working a new story, completely separate from the Drasana series! Since I have been absent for three years, I am giving myself the generous amount of time of three more years until I think it will be complete. On top of this I am also going to post on this website at least once a month, (preferably three times) to keep me in the drivers seat.

At this point I am offering up no info on the world or story, save this small snippet taken from one of the early chapters...

From the Fall of the Maz’Ya Peoples.

To the Rise of Men.

Humbly, Ahu’Razid Shah’Zade.

There is no need to convince you, dear brothers and sisters of these lean and trying times. That the ancient days of Maz’Ya power and affluence are well in the past. To you these written words will mostly ache as a painful reminder at the difficult steps our people have walked since the tragedy over five thousand years ago. However may it also shine some clarity to the intricate and complicated decisions we disgruntled and unorganized factions chose to make throughout the centuries in order to preserve our peoples. It is and has always been the aspiration of this author to find a way to reunify our peoples and live in some semblance of peace and prosperity once enjoyed long-ago.

If by some chance my dreams are one day fulfilled and our peoples once again rekindle our civilization to some spark of its former glory and you dear reader should come across this then aging manuscript. Let it serve as an enlightening beacon of the dark times where our people roamed in disunity, sabotaging one another for idealistic causes and hiding ourselves from the growing world of men for fear of violent discrimination, death, and the very destruction of our race.

Lastly if, and I must confess the more likely course continues and our people fully diminish into extinction. Should this work be recovered by the young and woefully inexperienced hands of the human race, it is this author’s belief that they will one day learn to decipher it. To you my human brethren I hope this text provides your peoples some notion of humility that could have saved mine from destruction. It has always been the will of the three great races to dominate the landscape, and until we learn to curb our desires for power and use what we have been given responsibly, we will always live in fear of death and annihilation. If you learn nothing else from these pages youngest of the three, know that unless your people find a way to unify as one, you are doomed to fail; but above all else, don’t underestimate the dragon.


bottom of page