top of page

The two"tion's" for October


Only, it's December. I am still trying to hold to the, one blog post a month, however working in the park service means I don't always have access to reliable internet. I will have three posts for December to make up for it.

Ambition and frustration, that has been the story of the month. Let's start with the happy one, since its the one I want to talk about more anyway. One of my favorite parts about writing is the setting, specifically building an entire new world for my characters to dwell in. This current work, is hands down the most ambitious world I have ever imagined. Some of this world I started creating in my youth and it has just been growing. Both Tolkien's Silmarillion and Martin's A world of Ice and Fire, have been heavy inspirations that have encouraged me to rework the setting and make it the best it can be. One thing I am specifically focusing on is the various cultures in the setting. I want readers to really observe the different languages, religions, customs, ethnicity's, and politics of different regions within the world I am creating.

Frustration comes hand in hand with this ambition however. I find that I spend a lot of time world building rather than writing with characters, which is making my progress quite slow. With a busy work schedule which keeps me in the back country overnight makes my progress even slower. I feel like if I try and write faster I won't produce something as en-depth or quality as i want. So, it is looking like this first book could take quite some time. Hopefully that means the quality of book will be something worth all this effort.


bottom of page